in , ,

Valorant Ranks Explained: Release Date, Icons..

When Will Valorant Ranked Release?

Jeff Landa who is part of the communications team of Valorant announced in a tweet that Valorant ranked system release date would be in CB just after patch 0.49 late April/ Early May 2020.

Valorant Ranked System Basics:

  • Complete 20 Unrated matches to unlock Competitive mode
  • 8 ranks, 3 tiers each, except the top rank, VALORANT
  • Queue with up to 5-player parties, must be within 2 ranks
  • Rank isn’t displayed if competitive matches aren’t played within 14 days, but your rank doesn’t decay behind the scenes.
  • Closed beta rank does not carry over to launch

So you start the game Unranked, you play 20 games to unlock the competitive mode, then you get placed in one of the 8 ranks above, then you play hard and grind your way up the ladder to become Valorant! this is the rank that most professional teams are watching and they recruit players from.

Coming from League of Legends, this system is very similar to the league ranking system and with it comes all the good and bad of the system to Valorant:


If VALORANT’s ranking system is a similar to League of Legends, we could have -Just like League- year-long seasons divided into three splits, each lasting three months. Players may earn ranking Points for winning games, giving them rewards at the end of each split. 


Match Making Ratings is basically a number that tracks how good you are, it’s a hidden formula mainly influenced by your win rate, but also -to a lesser degree- personal performance in-game (that could be your KDA or the number of kills..etc) we don’t know the exact formula but most people notice a bump in the points you earn when you win more recent games leading into higher MMR.

Riot Ranking system in League and soon in Valorant will use the MMR to place you in games with people that have similar MMR of yours providing you with a “fair” gaming experience, that’s what happens in League and we can only speculate that’s what will happen in Valorant too.

Winning games is the most important factor in gaining rank, but if you perform exceptionally well, your rank can go up faster. Inversely, losing games and performing well below expectations (deduced from your previous matches) will reduce your rank.


Here are all the ranks starting from the lowest and going to the highest:

  • Iron (1, 2, and 3)
  • Bronze (1, 2, and 3)
  • Silver (1, 2, and 3)
  • Gold (1, 2, and 3)
  • Platinum (1, 2, and 3)
  • Diamond (1, 2, and 3)
  • Immortal (1, 2, and 3)
  • Valorant (I’m Valorant in Valorant memes incoming)

Iron, Bronze, and Silver will be the home of most casual players, that’s 60%-70% of the player base, anything more than that is considered high elo, and the higher you get in the ladder the more challenging your games will be.

Written by LePu

Valorant Advanced CROSSHAIR GUIDE: Settings, Pros Crosshairs

Should You Crouch while Shooting in Valorant?